Oriental Simplicity

Why???

Wednesday, Jul. 28, 2004 at 7:32 a.m.

I'm going to a funeral tonight. An old friend from before I met my hubby was killed early Sunday morning from drinking and driving. He went to a bar that was having multiple bands play, there was a beer tent out side...he got plastered, his friends asked if he wanted a ride home, he said no, and he left. He exited up the wrong interstate ramp and hit another vehicle, being thrown from the truck and killed. The other driver is in fair condition and...my friend is dead. I hope the other driver is doing ok and has left the hospital at this point but I haven't heard any news on that. All I know is that my friend is dead...we hadn't spoken in 4 or 5 years since I'd been married and moved away, then moved back, but I just saw him with a friend at the fireworks. I wish I could go back and take him by the shoulders and shake him, saying, "Don't do it. Don't be stupid, just leave your truck there and go with someone sober." *sigh* I just want to scream...

<< ] [ >>